you're reading...
Uncategorized


sonaliranade

Understanding India’s Stagflation

 

 

The Rupee has sunk by 20% in last 4 months, while India’s industrial growth rate is [minus] 3.5% year on year.  What is going wrong?

 

Let us set up a simple equation based on standard definition of national accounts to understand what has been going on in the Indian economy since the financial crash of 2007.

 

 

Let all domestic private household and firms savings be S, the investments made by the domestic private firms in businesses be I.  Then [S-I] represents the net incremental cash available in the economy from the private sector.  Likewise, T represents the totality of all tax revenues available to the government while G represents the totality of all its expenditure.  Thus [T-G] would then gives us the net incremental cash generated or used by the government in a year.  The sum of [S-I] + [T-G] then represent…

View original post 1,536 more words

About Bobby-Allen

I am a business student, biotechnology graduate, free thinker and rationalist living in my own dream world, floating along with the speck of dirt that we call earth. I love reading books, traveling, movies, music and all the amazing things that this life has granted us. Though only a few among us appreciate their true value. I consider myself a seeker, for truth and salvation. I have looked for the truth in human emotions, feelings, dogma, superstitions and now I have only come closer to the perimeter of truth which just keeps on shifting further and further away. Hope one day I reach my goal, the post where I have tied my dreams.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

