you're reading...
Uncategorized

What’s wrong with being gay?


I have never met a homosexual men or women in my life. Although I had that feeling while meeting some of my peers in my college and high-school days, I can’t say for sure that they were something different from what I am. What I know is that there are millions of Gays and Lesbians in the world. In the modern world fueled with globalization and information, more and more individuals of LGPT community are revealing their true sexual identity. They are ‘coming out’ in large numbers.

I am the love that dare not speak its name.

It is very difficult for me to understand why a man will choose another man for his sexual life. But then I can’t understand what a woman feels for another man. I can’t share the sexual feelings of another person with a different or totally opposite sexual orientation. I am brought up in a society where we are told that if you are not ‘straight’ than you are not normal. I myself have always thought that Gay people were mentally unfit. But growing up and understanding things in a more logical and scientific way, I have come to understand that normal is not just something that I generally am or do in my life. People can be totally different and yet they can be just normal like I am. Coming out of our small cities and towns, we see the immense diversity that can be found in the human world. The people in my native city are highly conservative about sex. Therefore we have so many sex ‘taboos’ there. But going through my life and living in many different cities and meeting new people with different thoughts from around the world, I have come to appreciate and respect this diversity that is present around us in a bigger world. Considering ‘Sex’ as a taboo subject is normal in my native city. For a person living in Amsterdam, such thoughts will be considered anachronistic and uneducated.

But is Homosexuality natural? I mean, is it as natural as a newborn baby with an innate tendency to suck his mother’s breasts? Science today tells us that homosexuality is found in over 500 species in the natural world. An estimated one-quarter of all black swans pairings are of homosexual males. They steal nests, or form temporary threesomes with females to obtain eggs, driving away the female after she lays the eggs. Both male and female pigeons sometimes exhibit homosexual behavior. Courtship, mounting, and full anal penetration between bulls has been noted to occur among American Bison. The Bonobo, which has a matriarchal society, unusual amongst apes, is a fully bisexual species—both males and females engage in heterosexual and homosexual behavior, being noted for female-female homosexuality in particular. About 60% of all sexual activity in this species is between two or more females. There are several such documented cases that have been seen in natural world. So, how can anyone call Homosexuality as unnatural? Do they think that animals and birds like Dolphins, Bonobos, Swans, Gulls etc. do not come in the natural world? Homosexuality is found in all cultures, religion, ethnic groups, nations and races. It has been found since time immemorial and is not a new phenomenon.

If we can take the above argument to prove that Homosexuality is natural, what can be the possible biological cause for it? As much as I know, scientists are still struggling to find out the exact reasons. It can be genetic or hormonal, whatever. One problem that baffles many biologists is that how can ‘Gay’ genes get selected and propagated through thousands of generations? This is an answer that I found in the ‘’Newscientist website’’: –

“It has been suggested that homosexuality boosts individuals’ reproductive success, albeit indirectly. For instance, same-sex partners might have a better chance of rising to the top of social hierarchies and getting access to the opposite sex. In some gull species, homosexual partnerships might be a response to a shortage of males – rather than have no offspring at all, some female pairs raise offspring together after mating with a male from a normal male-female pair.

Another possibility is that homosexuality evolves and persists because it benefit groups or relatives, rather than individuals. In bonobos, homosexual behaviour might have benefits at a group level by promoting social cohesion. One study in Samoa found gay men devote more time to their nieces and nephews, suggesting it might be an example of kin selection (promoting your own genes in the bodies of others).”

Many people, basically from religious right call homosexuality as a form of disease. Famous dickheads from India ‘’Zakir Naik’’ and ‘’Swami Ramdeva’’ say that Homosexuality is a result of a men’s sexual orientations gone pervert. This is the definition of disease from Webster:

“A condition of the living animal or plant body or of one of its parts that impairs normal functioning and is typically manifested by distinguishing signs and symptoms”

But Homosexuals are just normal in all their physical and mental functions. Their actions do not disrupt either their well-being or the well-being of the society. The American Psychiatric Association and American Psychological Association do not consider Homosexuality as a disease. This is what American Academy of Pediatrics has to say about Homosexuality: –

You are normal

Homosexuality is not a mental disorder. All of the major medical organizations, including The American Psychiatric Association, The American Psychological Association, and the American Academy of Pediatrics agree that homosexuality is not an illness or disorder, but a form of sexual expression.

No one knows what causes a person to be gay, bisexual, or straight. There probably are a number of factors. Some may be biological. Others may be psychological. The reasons can vary from one person to another. The fact is, you do not choose to be gay, bisexual, or straight.”

Homosexuals are just as normal as we straight people are. They do not choose to become gays. It is not in their control. Just put yourself in their place. Do you think that you have chosen to be straight? Do you believe that sexuality is a choice? I can never become a true homosexual in my life, even if I was forced to. How will I feel if someday, Gays become a majority (hypothetically) and stigmatize straight people? I would be totally broken. Depressed. Half-Dead.

How can I ever become something that I am not?

In the end, we still do not know what causes Homosexuality. But because we do not know doesn’t means that we come to any erroneous conclusion. Let’s wait for Science to open a new door of knowledge before us. Until then, let’s not judge, let’s keep quiet and let these people live among us as our good neighbors, friends and Citizens.

Note: Four Homosexual men in Iran are awaiting execution. Sign this petition and Support them.

http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/urgent-stop-the-hanging-of-four-men-for-sodomy-in-i.html

About Bobby-Allen

I am a business student, biotechnology graduate, free thinker and rationalist living in my own dream world, floating along with the speck of dirt that we call earth. I love reading books, traveling, movies, music and all the amazing things that this life has granted us. Though only a few among us appreciate their true value. I consider myself a seeker, for truth and salvation. I have looked for the truth in human emotions, feelings, dogma, superstitions and now I have only come closer to the perimeter of truth which just keeps on shifting further and further away. Hope one day I reach my goal, the post where I have tied my dreams.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

