you're reading...
Uncategorized

God is not Good!


We live in a perfect world. God created this world and bestowed upon it his love and compassion. He is not away from us, he knows our pain, hears our prayers, and he helps us whenever we are in need. You don’t believe me? Jesus helped me find my car keys when I was running late to take my friends for a binge party. Allah heard my prayers and helped me when I was not passing my second grade history exams. He got me a B+. Thank you, Allah!

Meanwhile in Africa, a child looks like a stick figure. We can count his ribs over his charred black skin. His head is swollen big like a Martian. His mother died a few days back from typhus. Now he is dying. A vulture is hopping around him, eying him greedily, awaiting its chance to feed. As soon as the child dies or even sleeps, the vulture will strike, tearing his innocent face and gorging itself on his hopeless eyes. Thank you, God.

Meanwhile in Austria, a young girl of 18 is kidnapped by her father and kept in a dungeon. Her father chains her to a pole and gives her the option to either starve to death or have sex with him. After six months of torment, she chooses the latter. Every day in that period, she cried out for God. She was suffering in a dark dungeon. Her children were born in that darkness. They never saw the light of day for the next 18 years. This is the true story of Elizabeth Fritzl. Why should I complain to God? Didn’t he help me to find my car keys once? Yes! Car keys are more important to the Lord than the life of an innocent 18 year old girl.

Perfect world. Perfect God. And we are the sinners! Sinners because someone ate an apple out of a tree. That justifies bone cancer in children. Seems logical.

Not for me. No! It seems so immoral and nefarious, worst than the evil plans of Saruman and Voldemort put together. This perfect world can lick my shoes for all I care!

The problem with extremely religious people is that they try to find good things in the impotent actions of their god. They will find any reason, from karma to original sin, to say we human beings deserve it somehow. Islam will tell us that this life is a test from Allah, that we are being tested through pain and strife, torture and separation. That somehow this will all be compensated for when we go to Jannat (Heaven). It seems so sick to me that Allah will give bone cancer to a child just to test a muslim’s faith. If he is so compassionate and merciful, why doesn’t he just give everyone a chance in his good heaven without a bloody test? I see Allah as being like a Nazi doctor in an Aushwitz medical facility, who uses small children to torment and for experiments, like guinea pigs, only to create a better world for the ethnic Germans, or in Allah’s case, muslims.
Although I don’t believe in a devil, we can easily say that there are acts in this world which are evil, like rape and murder. Why doesn’t an all powerful and omniscient god stop that? Is he not willing or is he not capable of doing so? If he is capable, then he is willingly letting people die and be tortured in his imperfect world. He acts like a villain in the movie of humanity. In the end, I hope Bruce Wayne kicks his holy ass.

Hindu says that it is the karma of the people that they have to suffer hardships in this life. They were the bad guys – the Hitlers of past times. I don’t take Hinduism seriously. Such a weird religion it is, a mixture of various illogical faiths in different places of India. You can just walk 10 kilometers in any direction and you will find a different version of Hinduism. Karma is a bad theory. It tries to justify the sufferings of people in our current world. A woman who was left by her husband and whose only son was stabbed to death a few months back somehow deserves it because she was a Hitler in her past life. That’s ridiculous and insulting to humanity. If we go on doing that, we can justify anything. The warm tears of that desolate woman will mean nothing to us. Her loneliness without her son, the son she always fed before she, herself, ate, and for whom she woke up every night to care, will mean nothing for us. Love and compassion will then mean nothing to us.

I don’t know whether God exists or not. I am making no claims about that. If God doesn’t exist, we humans can still live a moral and just life. We will then know that our lives are just a random product of chemical reactions and physical forces. We will know that it is a one in a billion opportunity that we were born. We will know that our life and the lives of other people are rare. We will know that in order to protect our lives, this golden opportunity, we need to care for others. Life is what we make out of it; a beautiful journey or a hard one. That is our choice. It’s better to live in Hell like a king than to live in Heaven like a slave.

About Bobby-Allen

I am a business student, biotechnology graduate, free thinker and rationalist living in my own dream world, floating along with the speck of dirt that we call earth. I love reading books, traveling, movies, music and all the amazing things that this life has granted us. Though only a few among us appreciate their true value. I consider myself a seeker, for truth and salvation. I have looked for the truth in human emotions, feelings, dogma, superstitions and now I have only come closer to the perimeter of truth which just keeps on shifting further and further away. Hope one day I reach my goal, the post where I have tied my dreams.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

